New Jersey Speeding Ticket Attorney

Every now and again, whether done knowingly or unknowingly, we drive at speeds above the posted limit. A majority of the time no one is there to catch us. However, in those instances were a police officer is parked covertly in an attempt to catch drivers Speeding, anyone can be caught. When this happens, just hope that your speed was not beyond 30 or more miles over the posted limit. This is because judges have more recently taken the initiative to suspend driver who are caught at such high rates of speed.

If you or someone you love have been charged with Speeding in New Jersey, contact the Speeding Ticket Traffic Attorneys at (877) 450-8301. With former Municipal and County Prosecutors on Staff, we have the experience and insight in how to properly challenge the State’s case and help you avoid heavy fines, points and any loss of your license.

Driver Caught Going 105 MPH in a 55 MPH Zone Has Ticket Reduced to 65 MPH in a 55 MPH Zone

Recently, I handled a few traffic tickets on behalf of a client of mine in Union County. My client was charged with multiple tickets, most important of which was Speeding in excess of 50 MPH. Not only was my client subject to double fiscal penalties and five (5) points on his drivers license, but the judge also was seeking a 60 day suspension of his New Jersey Driving Privileges based solely on this client’s high rate of speed. Without getting into too much detail, I was able to convince both the judge and the prosecutor to except a negotiated plea to a reduced rate of speed, specifically 65 MPH in a 50 MPH posted limit (or 10 miles over). Not only did this reduce the point violation from five (5) to two (2), but it also tied the judges hands and prevented him from suspending my clients drivers license in New Jersey. I was also able to have the other tickets dismissed, thus saving my client hundreds of dollars in fines and also other points.

Call today and speak with an experienced traffic attorney to see if we can help you get a similar result.

NJ Speeding Law 39:4-98

N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 “Rates of speed”

Subject to the provisions of R.S.39:4-96 and R.S.39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:

a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;

b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;

c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c. 415 (C.39:4-98.3 et al.).

Whenever it shall be determined upon the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation that any speed hereinbefore set forth is greater or less than is reasonable or safe under the conditions found to exist at any intersection or other place or upon any part of a highway, the Commissioner of Transportation, with reference to State highways, may by regulation and municipal or county authorities, with reference to highways under their jurisdiction, may by ordinance, in the case of municipal authorities, or by ordinance or resolution, in the case of county authorities, subject to the approval of the Commissioner of Transportation, except as otherwise provided in R.S.39:4-8, designate a reasonable and safe speed limit thereat which, subject to the provisions of R.S.39:4-96 and R.S.39:4-97, shall be prima facie lawful at all times or at such times as may be determined, when appropriate signs giving notice thereof are erected at such intersection, or other place or part of the highway. Appropriate signs giving notice of the speed limits authorized under the provisions of paragraph (1) of subsection b. and subsection c. of this section may be erected if the commissioner or the municipal or county authorities, as the case may be, so determine they are necessary. Appropriate signs giving notice of the speed limits authorized under the provisions of subsection a. and paragraph (2) of subsection b. of this section shall be erected by the commissioner or the municipal or county authorities, as appropriate.

When designating reasonable and safe speed limits for a street under its jurisdiction pursuant to this subsection, as part of an engineering and traffic investigation, a municipality or county shall consider, but not be limited to, the following criteria: residential density; the presence, or lack, of sidewalks; the prevalence of entry and exit ways for business and commercial establishments; whether school children walk adjacent to the street on their way to and from school; and the proximity of recreational or park areas, schools, community residences, family day care homes, child care centers, assisted living facilities or senior communities. Nothing in this paragraph shall substitute for traffic count, accident, and speed sampling data as appropriate.

The driver of every vehicle shall, consistent with the requirements of this section, drive at an appropriate reduced speed when approaching and crossing an intersection or railway grade crossing, when approaching and going around a curve, when approaching a hill crest, when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway, and when special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway conditions.

The Commissioner of Transportation shall cause the erection and maintenance of signs at such points of entrance to the State as are deemed advisable, setting forth the lawful rates of speed, the wording of which shall be within his discretion.