Traffic Ticket Attorneys
Driving Without Insurance is one of the most common traffic violations each year in New Jersey. If convicted, this charge carries up to a $1,000 fine and a mandatory one year loss of your driving privileges. This is pretty severe for an offense that can stem from a honest mistake of failing to make your monthly car insurance payments. If you or someone you know have been charged with a traffic offense in New Jersey, contact the New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorneys at (877) 450-8301. Our team of former prosecutors can assist you in successfully fighting your traffic tickets and obtaining the best outcome possible under the circumstances.
Driver Without Insurance and Caught Leacing the Scene of an Accident has Both Tickets Dismissed
Recently, an associate of mine appeared on behalf of a client who had been charged with three traffic violations: Failure to Carry Insurance, N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2; Leaving the Scene of an Accident, N.J.S.A. 39:4-129; and Failure to Report an Accident, N.J.S.A. 39:4-130. Between the No Insurance Ticket and Leaving the Scene of an Accident tickets alone, my client was facing upwards of $6,000.00 in fines, 8 motor vehicle points, insurance surcharge increases, a mandatory two (2) year loss of license, and possible incarceration. Through negotiation with the prosecutor and conferencing with the judge, I was able to to have the Mercer County Municipal Court charges dismissed if my client plead guilty to the Failure to Report an Accident, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-130. This plea deal involved minimal fines, no loss of license, no jail time, and no motor vehicle points. This was a big win for myself and my client.
Failure to Carry Insurance Ticket N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2
The law for Failure to Carry Motor Vehicle Insurance may be found under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, and reads in pertinent part that:
An owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by P.L.1972, c. 197 (C.39:6B-1 et seq.), and an operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by P.L.1972, c. 197 (C.39:6B-1 et seq.) shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court. The court also shall suspend the person’s right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction; provided, however, the period of license suspension may be reduced or eliminated if the person provides the court with satisfactory proof of motor vehicle liability insurance at the time of the hearing. Upon subsequent conviction, the person shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of a form and on terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit the person’s right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of the conviction, and, after the expiration of the forfeiture, the person may make application to the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the chief administrator. The chief administrator’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Ticket N.J.S.A. 39:4-129
New Jersey’s law for Leaving the Scene of an Accident reads as follows:
(a) The driver of any vehicle, knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene until he has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (c) of this section. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. Any person who shall violate this subsection shall be fined not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000, or be imprisoned for a period of 180 days, or both. The term of imprisonment required by this subsection shall be imposed only if the accident resulted in death or injury to a person other than the driver convicted of violating this section.
In addition, any person convicted under this subsection shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of his conviction for the first offense and for a subsequent offense shall thereafter permanently forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State.