Leaving the Scene of an Accident Ticket, N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, Dismissed in Monmouth County

Motor Vehicle Accident Attorney New Jersey

Were you involved in a hit a run? More specifically, did you cause injury to another or damage to property as a result of a motor vehicle accident? If so, it is imperative that you immediately stop your vehicle and contact the authorities. Failure to do so will result in charges for Leaving the Scene of an Accident, or even worse Assault by Automobile. If convicted of Leaving the Scene of an Accident, the charges could carry up to $5,000 dollars in fines, possible jail time, and even a permanent forfeiture of your driving privileges (for subsequent offenders). Clearly, a traffic violation involving a Hit and Run is nothing to take lightly.

If you or someone you love are facing charges for Leaving the Scene of an Accident, call the New Jersey Traffic Attorneys at (877) 450-8301. With former law enforcement officers and new jersey prosecutors on staff, our firm has the experience expected of a premier law firm. Call today and receive your complimentary consultation with an attorney.

N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Personal Injury Dismissed in Monmouth County

Our firm recently handled a complicated traffic matter that involved a multiple car accident and a defendant who allegedly fled that scene after causing the accident. Injuries were sustained by multiple parties involved. Accordingly, our client, the above-referenced defendant, was facing serious charges and life-altering penalties. Once I was retained as counsel, I was able to begin an investigation into the accident. After reviewing police reports and witness statements. It became clear that there was an apparent issue when it came to identifying who the guilty party was. Nevertheless, the officers charged my client with 7 different traffic tickets, including, but not limited to: Careless Driving (N.J.S.A. 39:4-97), Reckless Driving (N.J.S.A. 39:4-97), Leaving the Scene of an Accident (N.J.S.A. 39:4-129), among others. Without divulging any confidential details, we were able to use these issues as a clear defense and obtain a dismissal of 5 out of the seven charges, including the Leaving the Scene of an Accident. My client left the court with zero points and no loss of license.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident or a Hit and Run in New Jersey

Depending upon whether or not your accident involved personal injury or merely property damage, as well as whether or not you are a repeat offender, the penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident will vary. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury carries the following penalties:

First Offense: Up to 180 days in County Jail, a 1 year suspension of your driving privileges, and a fine between $2,500 and $5,000.

Second Offense: Up to 180 days in County Jail, permanent forfeiture of your driving privileges, and a fine between $2,500 and $5,000.

Conversely, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage carries the following penalties:

First Offense: Up to 30 days in County Jail, a six (6) month suspension of your driving privileges, and a fine between $200 and $400.

Second Offense: Up to 90 days in County Jail, a 1 year suspension of your driving privileges, and a fine between $200 and $400.

Do not wait. Call (877) 450-8301 today and speak with an attorney free of charge.

 

 

Speak Your Mind

*