Suspended License Ticket NJ
Were you late to pay a surcharge to New Jersey DMV? Did you miss a court date or fail to pay a parking ticket? In arrears on child support payments? Suspended for a DWI? These are just a few of the most common reasons for one’s license to be administratively suspended or suspended due to a court order. For those of us who depend on our license and our ability to drive for work, the thought of not driving for a prolonged period of time is simply unconscionable. Whether you were aware that you were suspended or not, it is imperative that you understand how Driving with a Suspended License, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, can adversely affect your livelihood. Penalties for driving on a suspended license include, up to an additional six (6) month suspension, over $1,000 in fines and surcharges, up to 90 days in jail and insurance premium hikes. The pitfalls of a traffic ticket are numerous and intimidating. For assistance with your traffic matter, call the New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorneys at (877) 450-8301. With former prosecutors on staff, our firm has the knowledge and resources expected of one of the largest criminal defense firms in the State of New Jersey.
Attorney Has Ticket for Suspended License Involving DWI Dismissed
Recently, I appeared in Bergen County on behalf of a client who was charged with Driving While Suspended. This case was particularly interesting, as our client was suspended administratively based on a DWI (specifically, DWAI) he had received in the State of New York. It was imperative that we obtain a dismissal for our client because, technically, this was a second DWI for our client (he had a prior in NJ) and this could have been indicted under N.J.S.A. 2c:40-26. Whether or not such an indictment would stand would have been a question for the courts though. Nevertheless, because this was an administrative suspension, certain notification requirements were necessary and the proofs of this case did not indicate that my client received appropriate notice of New Jersey’s proposed suspension (a NY DWI court-ordered suspension only applies to NY, NJ needs to take separate action should they attempt to suspend you in the State of New Jersey as well). Based on these inefficiencies, I was able to petition the court for an outright dismissal, which the judge granted through oral arguments. This outcome saved my client an additional period of suspension, thousands of dollars in fines, surcharges, insurance premiums, and JAIL TIME.
N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 Driving While Revoked List Law
Driving With a Suspended License violations carry varying penalties, depending on the underlying reason for the suspension and the number of prior offenses on your record. In certain instances, Driving With a Suspended License can carry a MANDATORY MINIMUM of 180 days in County Jail. For more information on the penalties you are facing and how we can help, call (877) 450-8301. The initial consultation is provided free of charge.
Leave A Comment