It is the decision of the officer who pulls you over whether to charge you with reckless driving, careless driving or simply speeding. Reckless driving (N.J.S.A.39:4-96) charges carry the greatest penalties. If you are facing these charges, you need legal representation.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
Reckless driving convictions can carry up to three months in jail and $500 in fines. Additionally, Reckless Driving is a five (5) point offense. These points can lead to a license suspension, and a certain increase in the cost of your vehicle insurance premiums.
At The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we can help you disprove the charges or minimize the charges.
To arrange a free consultation with our skilled traffic violation attorneys, please call The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall today at (877) 450-8301. We are ready to evaluate your case.
New Jersey Reckless Driving Ticket Defense
Since speeding tickets carry a lesser consequence, we can help you establish in court that you were traveling above the speed limit at the time you were pulled over. We show that you were simply speeding.
We will also evaluate the manner in which you were pulled over. Was the equipment used to determine your speed up to date? Were you pulled for an offense that could be better described as careless driving? We know the questions to ask, and we will find the answers.
Our lawyers carefully review the details of your case and the circumstances leading up to the moment you were pulled over. We understand the factors that influence these cases, and we remain alert for situations that could be thrown out or minimized.
Reckless Driving Law New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39:4-96
39:4–96; Reckless driving; punishment
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both.
On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.
Reckless Driving Ticket Lawyers Throughout New Jersey
We understand the impact a conviction could have on your life and your finances. We have established relationships with court workers and prosecutors, and we will work to minimize the consequences. Call us at (877) 450-8301 to learn more.