Defendant Charged With Reckless Driving for Fault in an Accident has Ticket Significantly Reduced
Often times, those individuals who are at fault in a “fender-bender” or “t-bone”type of accident will be charged with Careless Driving, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-97, or Reckless Driving, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. For our purposes, this blog will focus on Reckless Driving laws in New Jersey. Specifically, how our firm was able to help defend an individual charged with Reckless Driving, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-96, based on a rear-end accident in which he was “at-fault.” Through discovery motions and judicial conferencing, I was able to obtain a negotiated plea whereby our client would avoid the five (5) point assessment for reckless driving, avoid any license suspension, obtain a civil reservation to seal the records against any civil litigation, and only pay a minimal $50 fine.
Are you charged with Reckless Driving or were you at fault in a traffic accident? Contact the New Jersey Traffic Attorneys at (877) 450-8301, for a complimentary consultation. With former prosecutors on staff, our firm is one of the most experienced and resourceful criminal and traffic defense firms in the State of New Jersey.
How We Can Help
As previously mentioned, I recently helped a client have his Reckless Driving ticket dropped to an Obstructing the Flow of Traffic ticket. The facts of the case included a rear-end accident whereby my client allegedly struck the plaintiff who had stopped abruptly at a light that had just turned yellow. Based on my analysis of the police investigation, I was able to put forth a solid defense whereby the State was forced to downgrade the ticket to a no-point violation with a minimal $50 fine. Additionally, because of the accident and the subsequent injuries suffered by the other party, I had the judge enter a civil reservation so that any record of the traffic ticket could not be used against my client in any civil litigation. This was a phenomenal result for my client.
New Jersey Reckless Driving Law
Pursuant to NJ.S.A. 39:4-96, “A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both. On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.”
Additionally, based on the fact that you can be convicted of a “willful or wanton disregard for the rights or safety of others”, the just is also entitled to suspend your license for a significant period of time.
If you wish to speak with a highly skilled New Jersey traffic lawyer, please call The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall today toll free at (877) 450-8301. We provide flexible payment plans and accept major credit cards. We are available nights and weekends for convenient appointments.
Leave A Comment