NJ Driving Without Insurance Ticket N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2
Forgetting to pay your insurance can have serious repercussions. Not only will you be driving around without insurance (and face serious civil liabilities if you are in an accident), but New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend your Driver’s License. If you are subsequently caught operating a motor vehicle, you will be subject to heavy monetary fines, surcharges, mandatory additional license suspension, and, in some cases, mandatory incarceration. If you or someone you love have been stopped and ticketed for Driving Without Insurance, under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, or Driving While Suspended, under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, contact an experienced traffic attorney at (877) 450-8301. Our team of former New Jersey prosecutors are well-equipped to resolve your traffic violation in the most beneficial way possible on your behalf. Our firm may be reached 24/7 for your convenience.
Driving Without Insurance and Driving While Suspended Ticket Dismissed
Recently, I appeared on behalf of a client who had been issued two driving tickets, Driving Without Insurance, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, and Driving While Suspended, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. The first charge, Driving Without Insurance, carries up to a $1,000 fine, yearly MVC surcharges of $250 for three years, and a mandatory one (1) year loss of your driving privileges. The Driving While Suspended charge carried a $500 fine, $250 in yearly surcharges for three (3) years, and up to a six (6) month suspension of your driving privileges. For my client, it was imperative that these charges be dismissed, otherwise he was facing consequences of magnitude and, if his license were to be suspended, a likely loss of employment. Thankfully, through negotiation with the prosecutor and motions with the court, I was able to convince the judge to enter a dismissal on all charges.
Driving Without Insurance Law New Jersey
39:6B-2. Penalties for failure to carry motor vehicle insurance coverage
An owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by P.L.1972, c. 197 (C.39:6B-1 et seq.), and an operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by P.L.1972, c. 197 (C.39:6B-1 et seq.) shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court. The court also shall suspend the person’s right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction; provided, however, the period of license suspension may be reduced or eliminated if the person provides the court with satisfactory proof of motor vehicle liability insurance at the time of the hearing. Upon subsequent conviction, the person shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of a form and on terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit the person’s right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of the conviction, and, after the expiration of the forfeiture, the person may make application to the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the chief administrator. The chief administrator’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.
Failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a rebuttable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged with a violation of this section.