Points on Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident N.J.S.A. 39:4-129
There is only one ticket in New Jersey that carries eight (8) points. The ticket I am referring to is Leaving the Scene of an Accident, involving injury, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-129. In addition to the mandatory loss of license, the court fine up to $5,000 and the jail time, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will assess 8 points to your driver’s license. Not only will these 8 points trigger yearly surcharges of at least of $200, but you may also face an additional period of license suspension for being a Persistent Violator (i.e. accumulation of points). Between the fines, the imprisonment and license suspension, Leaving the Scene of an Accident ticket is quite a handful. Most drivers are completely unaware of all these penalties. Moreover, this likely won’t be the only ticket you receive, as police typically issue additional tickets such as Careless Driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-97, or Failure to Report and Accident, N.J.S.A. 39:4-130.
If you or someone you love have been charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident, under N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, call the New Jersey Traffic Attorneys who can best help you resolve your matter. With former prosecutors on staff, our team of trial attorneys are prepared to help you fight these tickets. Call (877) 450-8301 today and receive your free consultation.
N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 Leaving the Scene of an Accident law, NJ
In New Jersey, if you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident (where there is injury) in which you were involved, you should familiarize yourself with the law. Specifically:
(a) The driver of any vehicle, knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene until he has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (c) of this section. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. Any person who shall violate this subsection shall be fined not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000, or be imprisoned for a period of 180 days, or both. The term of imprisonment required by this subsection shall be imposed only if the accident resulted in death or injury to a person other than the driver convicted of violating this section.
In addition, any person convicted under this subsection shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of his conviction for the first offense and for a subsequent offense shall thereafter permanently forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State.
Call (877) 450-8301 today and find out if anything be done to “beat” your traffic ticket for Leaving the Scene of an Accident.