Reckless Driving charges can cover a broad range of conduct. The statute was designed that way to encompass any conduct which involves a “willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property”. Whether you were speeding at a high rate of speed, Driving While Intoxicated, or involved in an accident, you could be charged with Reckless Driving under N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. If this happens, beyond court fines, you are facing five (5) points on your driver’s abstract (courtesy of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission), possible incarceration, and possible loss of license. Depending on the number of points on your driver’s abstract currently, you could be facing yearly surcharges or even a administrative suspension. If you or someone you love have been charged with Reckless Driving, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-96, contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall. With former Municipal and Criminal Prosecutors from across the State of New Jersey, our firm has the experience and resources required to handle your criminal or traffic violations. For your free initial consultation, call (877) 450-8301.
New Jersey Reckless Driving Law, N.J.S.A. 39:4-96.
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both. On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.
In addition to any fiscal penalty or incarceration, a driver could also have his driving privileges in New Jersey suspended by the judge. Depending on the facts of your case and your driving record, the judge may, in his or her discretion, suspend your driving privileges in the state of New Jersey (which, if you are a New Jersey driver, will affect your privileges in all other states). It is therefore always advised that a driver charged under New Jersey’s Reckless Driving law contact an attorney to discuss his or her options. To speak to a Reckless Driving Attorney in New Jersey, call (877) 450-8301.